Meet our 2024 Library Foundation Award honorees.

Board of Directors


Robert A. Wislow, Co-Founder, Parkside Realty, Inc.


Wendy Berger, President, WBS Equities

David R. Casper, Retired U.S. CEO, BMO Financial Group

Vice Chair

Marcy R. Carlin, Senior Vice President, Essex Investment Management

Vice Chair

Michael Fassnacht, Chief Growth Officer & President Chicagoland, CLAYCO

Linda Filler, Civic Leader

Steve Hendry, Special Advisor, Access Entertainment

Archana Kumar, Chief Operating Officer, Asset Management, Northern Trust


Bruce Sagan, Retired Publisher, Herald Newspapers, Inc.


Cindy Pritzker, Civic Leader

Chairman Emerita

Brenda Langstraat Bui, President & CEO, Chicago Public Library Foundation



  • Heather Alger
    Managing Director, PNC Capital Markets
  • Alena Antigua
    Managing Director, Stifel Financial Corp.
  • Margaret Baczkowski
    Founder, MB Luxury Group; Senior Broker, @properties
  • Jodi Block
    Civic Leader
  • Erin Bodendorfer
    Partner, Katz & Stefani, LLC
  • Kathleen Boege
    Executive Vice President, General Counsel & Corporate Security, Wintrust
  • Matthew Brewer
    Partner, Bartlit Beck Herman Palenchar & Scott LLP
  • Morgan Carr
    Attorney, Civic Leader
  • Esther Choy
    Founder & President, Leadership Story Lab
  • Jennifer Friedes
    Civic Leader; Independent Writing & Editing Professional
  • Kimberley Goode
    Chief Communications & Social Impact Officer, BMO Financial Group
  • Suren Gupta
    Executive Vice President, Technology & Operations, The Allstate Corporation
  • Francia E. Harrington
    Civic Leader
  • Adam Hecktman
    Founder & Chief Data Architect, For Good Advisory
  • David F. Heroy
    Retired Partner, Baker & McKenzie LLP
  • Carl Jones Jr.
    Vice President of External and Government Affairs, Comcast
  • Andrew Ladd
    Strategist, Upstream Thinking
  • Donna LaPietra
    Executive Vice President, Kurtis Productions
  • Robert S. Levin
    CEO, Republic Partners
  • Roger Liew
    Operating Partner, Impact Engine
  • Bryan Logan
    Partner, McKinsey & Company
  • Patrick McHale
    Assistant State’s Attorney, Cook County
  • Amanda Morris
    Associate General Counsel, Zell Family Office
  • Trisha Mowbray
    Partner, Jones Day
  • Avani Narang
    Director, Indus Cares Foundation
    Managing Director, Marketing, HR, and Digital Communications, Indus Communities
  • Andrés Ordóñez
    Global Chief Creative Officer, FCB
  • Sheila Owens
    Director of Donor Relations, San Miguel School Chicago
  • Jane S. Park
    Senior Vice President, Federal Governmental & Regulatory Affairs & Public Policy, Exelon (retired)
  • Melissa Potdar
    Vice President, Global Strategic Insights and Delivery Channel , McDonald’s
  • Linda Johnson Rice
    Chief Executive Officer, Johnson Publishing Company, LLC
  • Trisha Rooney
    President, R4 Services, Inc.
  • Marianna Ruiz
    EVP & Executive Creative Director, Edelman
  • Priya Sadarangani
    Managing Director, Chicago Market Executive, Bank of America
  • Andrea Sáenz
    President & CEO, Chicago Community Trust
  • Mark Sproat
    Executive Vice President, General Counsel & Secretary, Follett Corporation
  • Laurence P. Szumski
    Vice President, Customer Relations, Peoples Gas and North Shore Gas
  • Cherryl Thomas
    Chief Strategy Officer, Ardmore Roderick
  • Wade Thomson
    Partner, Jenner & Block
  • Elizabeth Tulach
    Deputy Chief Investment Officer, The Boeing Company
  • Michael Wilson
    Principal, KPMG LLP
  • Suzanne Yoon
    Founder & Managing Partner, Kinzie Capital Partners

Life Directors

  • Michelle L. Collins
    President, Cambium LLC
  • Rocco J. deGrasse, J.D.
    Managing Director, The Claro Group
  • Monique Brinson Demery
    Civic Leader, Historian and Author
  • Deirdre C. Drake
    Corporate Director, US Cellular Corporation
  • Paul H. Dykstra
    Of Counsel, Ropes & Gray LLP

  • James F. Feldstein
    President, Feldstein Company, LLC
  • Marshall Field V
    Chairman, The Old Mountain Company
  • Graham C. Grady
    Partner, Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP
  • Jacqueline Griesdorn, Ph.D.
    Education Research Consultant
  • Leslie S. Hindman
    Founder, Hindman Auctions
  • Adam Hoeflich
    Partner, Bartlit Beck Herman Palenchar & Scott LLP
  • James H. Lowry
    Senior Advisor, The Boston Consulting Group
  • Jose Martinez
    Partner, Calibre One
  • Cheryl Mayberry McKissack
    Founder & CEO, Nia Enterprises LLC; President, Black Opal, Fashion Fair
  • Carlette McMullan
    Principal, Willliam Blair
  • John Rau
    President & CEO, Miami Corporation
  • Frank A. Rossi
    Chairman, FAR Holdings Co., L.L.C.
  • Mary Lee Schneider
    President & CEO, SG360° (retired)
  • Charlie A. Schrock
    President & CEO, Integrys Energy Group, Inc. (retired)
  • Maureen Dwyer Smith
    Civic Leader
  • Linda J. Stephans
    Managing Director, Institutional Consulting Director, Graystone Consulting, Morgan Stanley
  • Ella D. Strubel
    Managing Director, EllaQuent Designs
  • Audrey Bables Tuggle
    Civic Leader
  • Dia S. Weil
    President, CEO, Mercantec, Inc.

In Memoriam*

  • John L. Brennan*
  • James R. Donnelley*
  • Sondra Berman Epstein*
  • Stanley M. Freehling*
  • J. Ira Harris*

Relive the 2023 Chicago Public Library Foundation Awards

Honoring Pulitzer-Prize winning author Colson Whitehead, Chicago’s rising star Rebecca Makkai, globally recognized sculptor Richard Hunt and civic leader Bob Wislow.